Featured Team Member

Not available to hire
Designation: Principal Software Engineer
Department: PHP
Experience: 5 Years
Education: Masters in Software Engineering
Time with Allshore: 1 and a Half Years

Shabir A.

A man who is passionate about everything in his life, Shabir puts his all into everything he does. His client has long been happy with him and told us: “Shabir is a brilliant developer. We continue to be impressed with his knowledge of code and the ideas he brings to our team. Keep up the great work, Shabir.”

Shabir’s Team Lead, Irfan Z., had many wonderful things to say about him and his skill. “If I had to describe him in one sentence I would say that Shabir is the complete package. He has awesome technical skills, great communication, the wisdom to see U.S. business preferences, and can deal with the client like a true customer relations manager. He has an outstanding history of delivering on big and complex projects. It’s been 20 months that I’ve had him on my team, and I really take pride in being the Team Lead for such a polite, honest, social, and down to earth person. He has also influenced many of his colleagues to not only learn and master the newest and greatest technologies, but has also helped them in any way he can.”

We got together with Shabir and talked with him about his life and his interests.


So Shabir, let’s start with what got you started in the IT field.
I’ve been in love with computers since I was in school, and I first graduated in computer systems. That’s when I realized I was so passionate about IT, especially programming.

Where did you attend college and what degree(s) do you have?

I attended school and college in my hometown of Bakhshali in Mardan. I then moved to Peshawar and graduated in Computer Systems Engineering, which was more focused on hardware, embedded systems, and signal processing than software. I took a few courses in software engineering, but that was enough to attract me to this field. I started a job related to software development, and then also started my Masters in Software Engineering and completed it in 2013.

Tell us about your experiences working with the company. Any fun stories to share?

This is the best company have I ever worked for in my career. The reason is because of the friendly environment, constant improvement, and flexible times. I have found these qualities in very few companies. We have so much fun with our colleagues: on trips, on movie nights, and in the gym area playing sports after our shift. In short this company is another name for fun.

What is your favorite framework to work in and why?

Well I work in Drupal, which is not framework, but I consider it the most complete technology to date. It has a general purpose where you can develop software, shopping carts, web services, and mobile apps. In short, whatever you think of, you can get with Drupal. I have also worked in CakePHP and FuelPHP frameworks.

What are the most important skills and abilities in order to remain successful in this career? 

In my opinion they are two: constant improvement and effective communication. If you are doing both you will never suffer. I think watching videos and lectures for self-improvement in technology and customer service is a key to surviving in this field and in this company.

What is your favorite part about your job?

I work directly with my client and I am fully responsible of my work. I take credit if I do something exceptional, and I take responsibility if I do some wrong. In most companies the managers are at the front and they are the ones who take credit for the developer’s effort.

What is your favorite: game, movie, and color?
I like soft colors, and my favorite games are cricket, tennis, and badminton. I watch cricket and tennis in my free time. I don’t really watch movies, but I watch TV shows. I have been watching The Big Bang Theory and I love it. For movies, I mostly like animated movies, but Tangled is the best I guess.

Tell us about your family and what you like to do together in your free time.

Well, I belong to the Northwestern province of Pakistan. My family is in my hometown in Mardan and I used to visit them over weekends. I spend most of my free time with my wife since I got married few months ago. Other than that, I play cricket and go hiking with my friends. I also like to cook in my free time, and I have cooked very tasty meals. My roommates and friends love it. I sometimes cook for our office parties as well.

2 (1)Do you have any personal hobbies or interests?

I like to read about technology and Islam, and I do recitations of the Holy Quran. Other than that, I visit green mountain areas of Pakistan and I am a part of each and every trip we have in our company. Last year I went to Kashmir with the office, and it was heaven on earth. 

What are three things you wish you could buy right now?

I’d buy a car, Samsung Galaxy S5, and an Apple Mac. Silly, isn’t it?

What is the last movie you watched? 

I watched an Indian movie called PK at the office movie night and it was a great and fun movie. I like it so much.

If Shabir could play any character in a movie or show, he’d play Sheldon in The Big Bang Theory. Shabir has traveled to many places in Pakistan such as Naran, Kaghan, Kashmir, and Nathia Gali. When he gets the chance he wants to see the Swat Valley, and then move on to India to see all the beautiful places there.